Three Dimensional Letters

7 Apr

Hi  first of all, I want to personally thank you for reading my tips and hopefully you can apply them and shorten your learning curve. Sign Painters, while learning the trade often get discouraged, because of the expanse  of the art. But as so many worth while skills it takes time, so if you love sign painting stick with it, you’ll get there!

Enough of that, I promised something about dimensional letters, so what you say we get to it.

When you put your basic letters on your sign, you can dress them up various ways. You can put a band around the letter or you can shade the letter or you can do both. Another thing can do is have a banner, strip or cloud or really whatever you choose behind the letters. Now I will give you some examples of this using basic color combinations.

1.  Say your using a light blue overall background, the letters you want are about six inches tall. Paint eight or nine inch high strip across the sign all the way to the end or leave a space at the ends, which ever you prefer using a darker blue than the background. this would be optional to use the darker strip.

2. Paint your letters in much lighter color than the background, then after this dries you can apply a compatible band around the letter. at this point your lettering has taken on three dimensions from the original background color.

3. Now if you want you can put a drop shade on the letters for even another dimension and this can be done in many different ways, which are explained in my sign painting basics course.

Remember that black and white is not considered color and are neutral or a combination of them  will look good with most other colors.

I hope these tips I share with you are helpful and if you have any questions send me an e-mail via signlessons@yahoo.com

Be sure and visit my website and please leave a comment, your feedback is needed so I will know what your needing to become a sign artist.

I will post more tips and how tos  very soon!

Thanks James C.

http://www.signpaintingbasics.net

4 Responses to “Three Dimensional Letters”

  1. Leandro 10/11/2012 at 10:55 #

    Hey very cool blog!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing ..

    I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…I am happy to find so many useful information here in the post, we need develop more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  2. hardwood flooring 02/24/2013 at 22:00 #

    Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your
    stuff previous to and you are just extremely excellent.
    I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it sensible.

    I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is actually a wonderful website.

  3. dirtyoilsands.org 03/07/2013 at 05:03 #

    Hello to all, the contents present at this web page are actually remarkable for people experience,
    well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  4. Shelley 03/15/2013 at 22:55 #

    Thanks for your comments on my blog. I’m kind of a tech newbie and not sure how to adjust the widths to fit Explorer. I played with it today, but I’m an all Apple girl so I can’t check how Explorer looks. Now that you’ve found me, I’ll come back often. Thanks so much! ~ Shelley
    seeshellspace.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,183 other followers

